Sign-on letter for organizations and individuals, to Energy Secretary Granholm, in opposition to Holtec’s scheme to re-apply for a billion dollar, or more, Civil Nuclear Credit program bailout for Palisades zombie reactor restart in Michigan (deadline Sunday, January 22, 2023)

Yard signs created by Michigan Safe Energy Future's Kalamazoo Chapter and Shutdown Palisades Campaign.
Dear Friends and Colleagues,
Despite being refused a $1 Billion+ bailout of Federal dollars to bring Michigan’s Palisades Nuclear Plant back to life in November, Holtec International is going back to the Department of Energy trough for a second try.
Palisades was closed forever — or so we thought — last May. And for good reason. It’s 51 years old and increasingly dangerous and inefficient in multiple ways. But Michigan’s governor and some legislative leaders have a different idea and are actively pushing DOE Secretary Jennifer Granholm, a former Michigan governor herself, to revive the zombie reactor.
We sent a letter to DOE on September 23, 2022 that 68 organizations and 81 individuals signed onto (thank you very much to those of you who did!). See that earlier letter posted online here:
Our previous effort helped persuade DOE not to give welfare to Holtec for Palisades at that time. Our new coalition sign-on letter explains in greater detail why running Palisades again would be a dangerous idea for Michigan and the entire Great Lakes region. This new letter is posted below. The current list of signatory organizations and individuals (as of 10 PM Eastern Time on Wed., Jan. 18, 2022) is posted at the bottom of this page.
Organizations and individuals are again welcome to sign on. To sign on, please email me at <[email protected]> your personal name, title if applicable, organization name, city, state, and email address. The deadline for signing on is 11:59 pm Eastern Time, Sunday, January 22, 2023. Please consider signing on, and spread the word. Thanks!
—Kevin Kamps, Beyond Nuclear and Don’t Waste Michigan, [email protected], (240) 462-3216
P.S. If you would like me to email you a PDF of the text of the letter, just let me know!
CURRENTLY SIGNED ON (as of 10 PM Eastern Time, Wed., Jan. 18, 2023)

ORGANIZATIONS (arranged alphabetically by group name)


Cynthia Weehler
The 285 Alliance
Santa Fe, NM

Alan Montemayor
Alamo Group of the Sierra Club
San Antonio, TX

Keith Gunter
Board Chair
Alliance to Halt Fermi-3
Livonia, MI

Rev. Edward Pinkney
Benton Harbor Community Water Council and Black Autonomy Network Community Organization
Benton Harbor, MI

Lilias Jarding,  PhD
Executive Director
Black Hills Clean Water Alliance
Rapid City,  SD

Kevin Kamps
Radioactive Waste Specialist
Beyond Nuclear
Takoma Park, MD

Diane Turco
Cape Downwinders
Cape Cod, MA

Deb Katz
Executive Director
Citizens Awareness Network
Shelburne Falls, MA

Charlie Weaver
Clearwater Network, Sierra Club
Traverse City, MI

Michael Keegan
Coalition for a Nuclear-Free Great Lakes
Monroe, MI

Michel Lee, Esq.
Council on Intelligent Energy & Conservation Policy (CIECP)
Scarsdale, NY

Ronald Kardos and Kathleen DeRosier
Co-Chair and Member
Crossroads Group of the Michigan Chapter, Sierra Club
Fenton and Hartland, MI

Daryl Davis
Co-Chair and Chair
Cuyahoga County Green Party and Green Party of Ohio Anti-Nuclear Committee
Cuyahoga County, OH

Stephen Brittle
Don’t Waste Arizona
Phoenix, AZ

Alice Hirt
Don’t Waste Michigan
Holland, MI

Mary Beth Brangan
Ecological Options Network
Bolinas, CA

Jim Walsh
Policy Director
Food & Water Watch and Food & Water Action
Washington, DC

Manna Jo Greene
Environmental Director
Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, Inc.
Beacon, NY

Terry Miller
Lone Tree Council
Bay City, MI

Peggy Case
Michigan Citizens for Water Conservation
Mecosta, MI

Iris Potter
Michigan Safe Energy Future-Kalamazoo Chapter
Kalamazoo, MI

John Ropp
Michigan Wildlife Conservancy
Bath, MI

Mark Haim
Mid-Missouri Peaceworks
Columbia, MO

Cecelia R. LaPointe
Executive Director
Native Justice Coalition
Manistee, MI – Anishinaabe Nation

Judy Treichel
Executive Director
Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force
Las Vegas, NV

George Crocker
Executive Director
North American Water Office
Lake Elmo, MN

Ann Rogers
Board of Directors Member
Northern Michigan Environmental Action Council (NMEAC)
Traverse City, MI

Dave Kraft
Nuclear Energy Information Service (NEIS)
Chicago, IL

Timothy Judson
Executive Director
Nuclear Information and Resource Service (NIRS)
Takoma Park, MD

Joanne Sweeney
Board President
Nuclear Watch South
Atlanta, GA

Kelly Lundeen and Lindsay Potter
Luck, WI

Sally Jane Gallert
Occupy Bergen County
Woodcliff Lake, NJ

Patricia Marida
Ohio Nuclear-Free Network
Toledo, OH

Martha Spiess
Peace Action Maine
Portland, ME

Rev. Rich Peacock
Peace Action of Michigan
Sterling Heights, MI

Denise Duffield
Associate Director
Physicians for Social Responsibility-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Mary Lampert
Pilgrim Watch
Duxbury, MA

Gary Headrick
San Clemente Green
San Clemente, CA

Robert M. Gould, MD
San Francisco Bay Physicians for Social Responsibility
San Francisco, CA

Linda Seeley
San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace (SLOMFP)
Los Osos, CA

Elayne Elliott
Chapter Director
Sierra Club Michigan Chapter
Lansing, MI

Karen Hadden
Executive Director
Sustainable Energy & Economic Development (SEED) Coalition
Austin, TX

Marylia Kelley
Executive Director
Tri-Valley CAREs (Communities Against a Radioactive Environment)
Livermore, CA

Chris Williams and Debra Stoleroff
Member,and Steering Committee Chair
Vermont Yankee Decommissioning Alliance
Hancock and Plainfield, VT

Rita Mitchell and Lauren Sargent
Ann Arbor, MI

Charley Bowman
Western New York Drilling Defense
Buffalo, NY


INDIVIDUALS (arranged alphabetically by last name)


Scott Ahern, Nederland, CO

Marilyn Anderson, Faber, VA

JL Angell, Rescue, CA

Jeff Alson, Ann Arbor, MI

Linda Baillio, Spencer, Indiana

Karen Bonime, Albuquerque, NM

John Brenneman, South Bend, IN

Stephen C. Brown, PhD, Ann Arbor Environmental Commission, Ann Arbor, MI

Terry Burns, M.D., San Antonio, TX

Tom Cannon, Haslett, MI

Stephen Caruso, Pataskala, OH

William Collins, Mount Prospect, IL

Ronit Corry, Santa Barbara, CA

Bill Costantino, Caledonia, MI

Denise and Richard Donaldson, Cleveland, OH

Jacquelyn Drechsler, Valley Cottage, NY

David Ellison, Architect, The D. H. Ellison Co., Cleveland, OH

Janice Flahiff, Toledo, OH

Arnold Gore, Brooklyn,NY

Schuyler Gould, Brattleboro,  VT

Norda Gromoll, Eagle River, WI

Connie Kline, Willoughby Hills, OH

Dr. Ross Landsman, Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region 3 dry cask storage inspector (retired), Chicago, IL

Kary Love, Attorney at Law, West Olive, MI

Rebecca Mandrell, Richland, MI

Sr. Mary McMahon, Philadelphia, PA

Mari Mennel-Bell, Pompano Beach, FL

Marion Mlotok, Austin, TX

Sheila Parks, Ed.D., Watertown, MA

Catherine Podojil, Cleveland Heights, OH

Deborah Reade, Santa Fe, NM

Pamela Rups, Kalamazoo, MI

James Stamos, Saratoga, CA

Mark Swanson, Ann Arbor, MI

Mary True, Pepeekeo, HI

Gary and Margaret Valade, Oakland Twp, MI

Jeffrey Vrba, Bloomfield Hills, MI

L. Watchempino, Pueblo of Acoma, NM

Ineke Way, Kalamazoo, MI

Laura Wilder, Garland, TX

Mary Jane Williams, Winter Springs, FL

John Wood, Hood River, OR

Posted in

Support Beyond Nuclear

Help to ensure a safer, greener and more just world for all