Time to embrace nuclear prohibition goals

With the growing risk that the war in Ukraine could involve the use of nuclear weapons, Beyond Nuclear has signed a letter of support for H. Res. 77, introduced by US Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA) and Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR). The resolution calls on the United States to embrace the goals and provisions of the…

Read More

An unbreakable linK? Nuclear power and nuclear weapons

Often referred to as “two sides of the same coin”, the commercial and military nuclear sectors are inextricably linked and mutually dependent. And yet, nuclear power is sometimes seen as the benign stepchild of the wicked nuclear weapons stepmother. In fact, the longterm and widespread damage that a nuclear power disaster can inflict on millions…

Read More

It’s 90 seconds to midnight. Doomsday Clock moves closer

Today, the scientists at The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists moved the hands of their famous Doomsday Clock the closest to midnight the clock has ever been. Responding to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and the less-than-veiled threats by Russian president, Vladimir Putin, to use nuclear weapons, the hands of the clock were moved to 90…

Read More

1PM TODAY EVENT: Jail time for action against nuke weapons

Join Nukewatch TODAY at 1pm EST/ 7pm Central European Time/Noon CST/ 11am MST/ 10am PST. Register in advance. Nukewatch’s John LaForge will be entering a German prison on January 10 to serve 50 days for his part in actions aimed at removing US nuclear weapons from Germany. Dozens of activists that have been involved in…

Read More

The latest fusion hype

Despite the hype and the headlines, the real agenda behind the fusion “breakthrough” announced this week is to benefit the nuclear weapons sector, not electricity production. The NIF experiment far more closely resembles the process of a (very tiny) thermonuclear warhead. Since the U.S. has not tested nuclear weapons since 1992, the data from experiments…

Read More

US keeps ‘usable’ nukes

Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (CND) General Secretary Kate Hudson outlines the US government’s latest position paper on nuclear weapons in the current edition of the CND magazine, Campaign. In October, the Biden administration published its 2022 Nuclear Posture Review (NPR), much later than expected. The delay was reportedly due to differences over significant aspects of…

Read More

Federal court panel rejects HALEU appeal, but another opening remains

On November 15, 2022, a three-judge panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit rejected an appeal brought by Beyond Nuclear and the Ohio Nuclear-Free Network challenging the production of High-Assay Low-Enriched Uranium (HALEU) at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Portsmouth, Ohio site. HALEU would, supposedly, fuel “advanced” reactor…

Read More

Erwin Citizens Awareness Network Questions NFS Nuclear Weapons Project

ERWIN CITIZENS AWARENESS NETWORK, INC. (ECAN) P.O. Box 1152 Jonesborough, TN 37659 Media Contacts: Linda Cataldo Modica-ECAN President, 423-676-2925 Barbara O’Neal-ECAN Vice President, 423-928-0400 Terry Lodge-ECAN Attorney, 419-205-7084 For Immediate Release: November 7, 2022   Erwin Citizens Awareness Network Questions NFS Nuclear Weapons Project Opposes NRC Licensing of Bomb-grade Uranium Deal at BWXT Subsidiary in…

Read More

Majority of countries want a nuclear ban

Against the backdrop of the war in Ukraine, with its attendant nuclear risks, a majority of the world’s countries have reaffirmed their support for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW), writes the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons. The TPNW  entered into force last year and makes nuclear weapons illegal under international…

Read More