Standing room only at Nuclear-Free Future Awards

Hinamoeura Morgant-Cross of French Polynesia, Laureate.  Nuclear Free Future Awards - New York City. November 28, 2023

It was standing room only at the 2023 Nuclear-Free Future Awards and ‘Hope for the Future’ art exhibition held in New York City on November 28.

The joint event, combining the long-standing Awards with an art exhibit focused on work by youth from the Marshall Islands, the Solomon Islands and Kiribati, took place at the atmospheric Blue Gallery in conjunction with the Second Meeting of States Parties to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons happening that week at the United Nations.

Nuclear Free Future Awards laureate Tina Cordova (far right) with Award co-founder, Claus Biegert (far left) and presenter Arjun Makhijhani.

Nuclear Free Future Awards laureate Benetick Kabua Maddison of the Marshall Islands.

Robert Ellsberg accepting the Lifetime Achievement award on behalf of his father Daniel.












The event, which featured the Awards, the art exhibition, music and a dance performance, was filmed. The video will be available to watch on YouTube early in 2024.

The Nuclear-Free Future Awards, founded in 1998, are given each year to the mainly unsung heroes who work to end uranium mining and rid the world of nuclear weapons, nuclear power and uranium munitions. There is now a new website for the Nuclear-Free Future Awards going forward as the Awards recently transitioned out of the Nuclear-Free Future Foundation and are now a co-production of Beyond Nuclear, IPPNW Germany, Uranium Network and Awards co-founder, Claus Biegert.

The 2023 Nuclear-Free Future Award laureates, Tina Cordova (USA), Benetick Kabua Maddison (USA/Marshall Islands) and Hinamoeura Morgant-Cross (French Polynesia), all campaign to draw attention to the plight of the innocent and unwilling victims of the decades of atomic testing that followed Trinity and the dropping of atomic bombs on the citizens of Japan, at Hiroshima and NagasakiPeter Paulus; and continued on their homelands.

US-based Marshallese quartet, MARK Harmony, and New York musicians, Peter and Max Gordon provided the musical entertainment along with a dance troupe from Kiribati.

The evening was a co-presentation of Beyond Nuclear, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Germany (IPPNW-DE), Nuclear Age Peace Foundation (NAPF), Reverse the Trend: Save Our People, Save Our Planet (RTT) and The Prospect Hill Foundation.

Kiribati dancer, Nuclear Free Future Awards.

Amy Goodman speaking about Daniel Ellsberg at the Awards event.













The event was also made possible by: Jon Autiello; Bancroft family; Beyond Nuclear; Claus Biegert; Jim Epstein; Justine Epstein; Jeanne Feeney; Aletta Georgii; Rupert Goetz; Gabriele and Bruno Herzog-Schröder; Christopher Hormel; International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War; Marshallese Educational Initiative; Susanne Mayer; Nuclear Truth Project; Peter Paulus; Peace Boat US; Physicians for Social Responsibility New York; Christoph Schwingenstein; Günter Wippel; and Youth Arts New York/Hibakusha Stories.

Headline photo of Nuclear-Free Future Awards laureate, Hinamoeura Morgant-Cross, making her acceptance speech.

All photos Copyright Adam Stoltman, 2023 – All Rights Reserved

Support Beyond Nuclear

Help to ensure a safer, greener and more just world for all