Operating U.S. commercial power reactors


There are currently 93 units of commercial nuclear power reactors operating at 54 sites in the United States. Nuclear power regulation and operations in the country are subdivided into four regions by the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission: 20 units in Region 1 (CT, MD, NJ, NY, NH, PA); 34 units in Region 2 (AL, FL, GA, NC, SC, TN, VA); 21 units in Region 3 (IL, MI, MN, OH, WI), and; 18 units in Region 4 (AR, AZ, CA, KS, LA, MO, MS,  NE, TX, WA).

The entire US commercial power fleet is presently comprised of light water fission reactors, meaning that normal water is used as both the reactor coolant and neutron moderator to control the atomic reaction. There are two basic designs for US light water reactors; the pressurized water reactor (PWR) and the boiling water reactor (BWR). The US currently operates 61 PWR units and 31 BWR units.

The US NRC Information Digest (NUREG-1350, Vol. 34, 2022-2023 ), updated biennially, maintains the list of operating power reactors by their location, operator, manufacturer, power rating, licensing date, relicensing date, current license expiration date and other data. See NRC Information Digest (2022-2023), Appendix A, Operating Reactors. [NOTE: Georgia Power Vogtle 3, the first and presently only U.S. Generation III reactor to become operational, a Westinghouse Electric AP1000 Pressurized Water Reactor,  to start generating commercial electrical power onto the grid June 8, 2023. The current edition of the NRC Information Digest has not yet been updated to note its operational status.]

Support Beyond Nuclear

Help to ensure a safer, greener and more just world for all